Money Money Money Money Money

Couch Tomato

The identity theft discussion on main reminded me I wanted to start this thread. I know I need advice in a lot of areas - from tips on buying groceries to saving for retirement. Hell, even budgeting Clay in LOL.

Atinal, can you copy your posts over from main regarding identity theft? testing to see if she uses view new posts :cryingwlaughter:

Personal finance, credit, retirement, getting out of debt, home buying, and paying for Clay trips..or anything else that you want to chat about.

I'm wondering if anyone works for a company that has an ESOP? Mine just recently became one.

When I got divorced a few ahem years ago, I had maybe 40K in retirement money, I went back into consulting and worked with acountants to save 50% of what I earned.

I am not good at investments, most of mine suck, but I am really good at not spending and not losing any money, even if it barely keeps up with inflation. I became a project manager for a year 2000 project and worked 15 hours a day 7 days a week. I basically gave up a year of my life and saved the bulk of the money then, 50% in retirement plans and 25% in savings. Was it worth it? I don't know, but I have been living on savings for 3 years without income. I am finally getting some minimal income this year and will supplement with savings, so it did have it's purposes.

Things to remember if or when you are 59.5 or older - or a parent- (I know, most people are younger....still) and you have any money in a retirement CD (ira, sep, keogh), you can go in once a year to a bank and ask for the highest rate. It doesn't matter how long it is in there for - 6 months or 5 years, they have to give you the highest rate they are paying. I do it in the spring.

I am sure people can get you other things

Here is the cheap gas price web site

And the sales on stuff site